What is this and how do I get rid of it? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What is this and how do I get rid of it?

I have been keeping aquaria for close to 50 years and this is the first time I have seen this particular problem. My 150 gal planted Asian tank is infested with this black velvety algae. It grows on the driftwood, the walls and worst of all, the plants themselves. It is very unsightly. The plants don't like it, the fish don't care.

I have tried different combinations of light bulbs with no discernible change. I do 33% water changes monthly, sometimes with gravel vacuuming. Tank water is crystal clear. Temp 77. pH 7.2. Two canister filters and a 1800 gph wave maker provide flow. Can someone offer a cure?

Here is a picture:

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 05:13 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
very nice tank

if it was mine, id attack with peroxide and uv. it would work eventually, peroxide has quite a following now in both freshwater and in reef tanks, actual running reef tanks with thousands of dollars worth of sps corals I have the threads to show it...

sure its a total cheat and something natural exists that could probably work alternatively, I just couldnt wait lol

small old reef tank:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

still running in 2018

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 05:37 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
You have a pretty serious black beard algae infestation. Do you inject co2? This stuff is a bugger to rid if tank parameters aren't adjusted and kept as such. I had it once, and dialing up my co2 and dosing excel for a week cleared it up.