What Do YOU Think! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-18-2004, 06:49 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Ok Ok! I know I am a newb @ planted tanks but i'm educating myself more and more and I think im on to the right track! This is what I got:

10gal Tank
2 Whisper Power Filter 10's
1 Tronic 100watt Heater
1 20lb bag of Eco-Complete (Gives a good base)
1 10lb bag of fine natural gravel (all together makes 2.5 inches)
1 JKS ballast with 36watt CF lighting

Right now Im conditioning the water so I have to wait till tomorrow to add fish so IF ANYONE CAN LET ME KNOW ON A GOOD COMMUNITY OF FISH TO ADD AS WELL AS PLANTS THAT WOULD BE GREAT!

Also, right now I have the Natural gravel on top of the Eco-complete, I was wondering if i could mix the two together because the natural looks a little boring but I dont know if that would mess up the base for the roots of the plants?

FOR SALE:
I have a brand new 40gal on standby! If anyone is interested in buying it let me know! Brand new 40gallon with practically new black stand, I can provide pictures! Both for 140
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-18-2004, 07:17 AM

Looks good to me. Except that you may only need one Whisper 10 if you inject CO2. I use a Whisper30 and turn it all the way down or else gas out too much CO2.

It's ok to mix reg. gravel and Eco-complete. I did that in my 55 gl and the plants are fine.

For the plants, avoid swords and other big plants. I have Rottala, Moneywort, wisteria, Crypts, Lutea, Java Fern and dwarf hairgrass.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-18-2004, 07:46 AM Thread Starter

Well your Whisper 30 still filters more than both of my Whisper 10's right? So even if I put both on low or high It would do just fine I believe. I am going to have a lot of small fish like tetras in there so I need to keep the tank clear.

Any ideas on what fish to put in?

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-18-2004, 07:55 AM