New to the forum and I have some questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 11:13 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to the forum and I have some questions

Hello wise people of TPT. My name is Sebastian.

I have been reading this forum and visiting the website for quite some time but I have never posted nor made an account till today, because I finally have questions that I would like to get some answers from TPT experts.

Recently I have picked up 55 gallon fish tank and I'm planing on making it into planted tank (I have zero experience doing planted tanks but I have owned a 20 gallons tank for few years now) and my scare is that my house floor might not be able to hold the tank. I live in the attic of a rental house build in 1920-30's. The apartment starts on the 2nd floor and the attic is just big open space room split with a wall that lead to the closet. 1st floor of the house is a liquor store (owned by my landlord) w/o any walls in the store except the load walls and maybe 4 ft of a wall in the middle of the store. I know a tank this size filled with water is around 600 LBs (give or take few LBs) plus a stand and everything else in the tank. I've read a lot on this forum and other forums about people having 55 gallon tanks on their 2nd/3rd floor of their apartment building, but the more I read the more freaked out I get about it. Figured I would ask some questions and maybe few people who live in a house and have an aquarium on a 2nd/3rd floor can answer.

1. Would it be safe to place a tank against a wall that isn't load wall? (the attic outside wall isn't a house load wall, the wall I'm referring to is a wall that divides the closet and the room)

2. Should I try and find a placement against a load wall if possible? (I could manage finding something but it would require to move some furniture around)