Need help with new tank set up. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need help with new tank set up.

Hello, thanks for reading. I have a 40 gallon breeder just finishing cycling. I have 1"-1.5" dirt front to back. About same for pool filter sand. I got quite a bit of hiding places from some rocks I put together, I just got a few plants in.(Anacharis and Wisteria-java moss too) I got a penguin 350 and a dual sponge filter, 2 shop lights approx: 140 total fluorescent watts. I just got a great deal on 8 peppered corys, $1 a piece! I'm hoping I didn't get too many. Because I want an albino BN pleco along with maybe 4 already paired GBR's also. I also had maybe like 10 or so cardinals or neons in mind.I would go for zebra danios, dwarf gourami, otos too. maybe throw some RCS in there when the time comes. I'm slowly putting this thing together, I'm pretty new to the little more advanced side of fishkeeping so any help would be great. Tell me any ideas or what you think about species, equipment, and/or stock. BTW money is somewhat an issue. Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 11:23 PM
Planted Tank Guru

8 peppered corys: Cool water species of Cory, but adaptable.
albino BN pleco: One is fine in this size tank, but not enough room for more. No other algae eaters. Are you going to find the long finned form?
4 already paired GBR's: With plenty of hiding places 2 pair ought to be OK. They need warmer temps for breeding, not compatible with Pepper Cories. Also, Cories do not seem to respect the territories of Rams, and there could be some problems.
10 or so cardinals: Warm water fish. Compatible with the Rams. Go for more than 10.
or neons: Cooler water fish than the Cardinals, compatible with the Cories. Do not get both Cards and Neons, but whichever you get, get plenty of them.