Poll: How many first have you lost (died) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-01-2014, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Poll: How many first have you lost (died)

a. 0
b. 1-2
c. 2-4
d. 5+

also please state how long you have been in the hobby, and any lessons learned.

I am new to keeping fish and so far all my fish are looking great, but I can't help but fear the worse. Just curious how many of you guys/gals have had fish die on you and why.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-01-2014, 10:15 PM
Wannabe Guru

Over the years the number of fish lost in no doubt in the 100's. I've been in the hobby about 45 years now. If you keep fish, you are going to loose some of them for various reasons. Some fish only live a year or two. Sometimes external events wipes out the entire tank. Sometimes you do something really stupid and kill off a lot of fish. In fact, in fact I don't know anyone that's been in the hobby for 5 years or so that hasn't lost the entire tank at one time or another.

As for lessons learned, I could right a book, but I'd say the best ones to learn are always get top quality equipment (This is NOT most expensive), don't believe anything a LFS tells you, especially in advanced aquarium systems, quality of tanks is better than quantity, one great tank verses several average ones.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 04-01-2014, 10:46 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (11/100%)