Green Algae problem - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Green Algae problem

I've been dealing with a big algae problem lately.

I'm not really experienced with live plants so I'm still learning and everything so every advice will help.

Setup : 32 (ish) gallon fresh water with guppies (around 10 + frys)
Plants : Not sure about everything but : Rotala, Myriophyllum, Amazon Sword, I will add more later once I can find a decent place online. (the selection in LSF sucks) and I still haven't decided what kind.

Temperature : 84
Lights : Aqua-glo and a Flora glo on for about 11-12h a day. I tried for 8-10h but the plants became a bit paler.

I'm careful not to overfeed (they eat everything in 1 minutes)

The green algae is mostly on the glass, the plants seems to be ok (same for the driftwood, but I haven't taken it out of the water to check)

I scrub it once a while, but it's a pain in the butt and even though I know -some- algae is alright, I'm wondering if that quantity is normal... (I have two other tanks, smaller, which don't have the same problem)

I'll try to get an ancistrus soon to help, but I doubt it's going to be enough.

What can I do?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	298690  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	102.3 KB
ID:	298698  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 05:47 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

You have a long light schedule perfect for growing algae , I leave my lights on for 12hrs to grow algae on rocks for my cichlids, you will need to reduce to about 6 to 7hrs a day in lighting.
Try some flourish excel to brighten up your plants, also water changes and proper water primators are vital to a healthy tank.

125g,75g,50g,40g,27g,10g
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-31-2014, 06:27 PM Thread Starter