African Cichlids - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 10:26 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
African Cichlids

Hey everybody, I tore down my planted tank a year ago and haven't been on this site much since. I want to start over, but I'm going to college this fall and don't want to leave too much work behind for my family, so I'm thinking about an african cichlid tank. I'm completely new to this genre? of fishkeeping, so any advice is much appreciated. I have a 37 gallon tall (standard 29 gallon footprint, couple inches taller) tank.

Edit: It has the footprint of a 29 gallon, not a 20 gallon tank.
(30L x 12W x 23 T)

You're in my heart, you're in my soul, you'll be my breath should I grow old
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 10:38 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Check out www.cichlid-forum.com. That place has all the information you need to know. Be aware, though, you're going to be very limited with the tank you have. You still have some options, though. Check out the library on that site and I believe they have a cookie cutter setup for a 20 gallon, which is what you'll want to use since that's the footprint for your 37 gallon. Cichlids need room to spread out, the height doesn't do much for them.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 10:41 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
Indeed. You will be very limited with a small footprint tank. African cichlids are very territorial and one dominant male could easily claim the entire tank for territory and terrorize all the other tankmates to death. I know from experience. I made the mistake of doing before reading. But now I know and did keep cichlids for awhile but have now bit the bait for planted tanks.

that site Sierra linked is awesome. Definitely a great resource.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast