New to plants - Help (pics) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 03:43 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (28/100%)
New to plants - Help (pics)

Hello everyone! I've kept fish for a good while but I'm a real newbie to live plants. Pics Below.

I bought an Amazon Sword, Hygrophila, and another small plant I'm not sure of the name of. They all looked pretty good for a while. They even started growing. They all have really good root systems still. But the foliage is going down hill.

The Amazon Sword leaves are getting holes in them, you can see through them, and the tips of the leaves are turning yellow.

The Hygrophilia is getting new growth at the top but the lower leaves are turning black around the edges and kind of curling up. And the growth on top is VERY light green.

And the other one (which hopefully someone can help me ID) is growing really good in the center, but the leaves that extend up aren't doing so well.

Thanks in advance!

Matt

PH 7.0
Nitrates 40
Nitrites NA
KH 4
Amonia 0

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 07:25 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (7/100%)
Hello Matt, welcome to the board. Couple questions for you:

1. What size tank do you have?
2. What light system are you using? How many watts is it? (If your unsure check on the bulb/bulbs.
3. Are you adding any substances to try and help the plant growth?
4. What kind of substrate/gravel do you have?
5. How long have the plants been in your tank?
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (28/100%)
Thank you!

It's a 75 gallon tank. I have 1 40 watt Power-Glo 18,000K light. I guess the substrate is just plain gravel. I've had it so long I don't have the package it came in. I've had the plants for about 2 or 3 months.