Hello! Plant ID? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 02:36 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hello! Plant ID?

Hi there, my first time posting on this board, although I've been lurking off and on. I'm new to planted tanks (but not to aquariums in general), and let me tell you, I'm hooked!

It's a bit of an addiction, and I keep buying plants. I've had to stop for now, as I bought four more plants yesterday, and to fit them in the tank in a way that looked alright, I had to chuck a plant (my wysteria, which wasn't doing great anyway since the Angelfish thought it was lunch).

Luckily, I've got two more tanks coming in the next couple of months, so my addiction can continue

Anyway, I'd love an ID on a couple of plants. I've been all through Tropica's list and the one here, and couldn't find them:

This one was in pretty bad shape in the store, but has potential to look really nice. It's some sort of stem plant, and the leaves are fairly stiff:

This one is a total mystery. It's quite stiff, and reminds me of the branches of a pine tree - it's almost like pipe cleaner to touch. Each little plant in the group has it's own root coming out of the base, but there's no crown or visible rhizome, the bottoms are basically like rooted stem plants. It almost looks like something that should be attached to a rock or wood though? Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 02:39 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
Does the second look like this? Resolution on this monitor sucks...

If so, it's elodea.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-09-2008, 03:20 AM Thread Starter