My try at Granite and Ironite - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (5/100%)
My try at Granite and Ironite

Hey guys, I haven't set up a new tank in a long time, so I figured why not.
I needed a grow out tank and have a 24" ray 2, so might as well do a 20 high. I wanted to try some things I've never tried before in terms of substrate, so I did.

Today I went to Home Depot, and spent $15 on two items, both of which I had no intention of buying when I went it.

Item Number One: Decomposed Granite. This will act as my substrate and my "cap".

Item Number Two: Ironite Mineral Supplement, 50# Bag. This will act as a source of iron.

I did very little research on these two items until after I bought them. Basically I made sure the Granite was aquarium safe that's it. After I got home, I did some research on the Ironite. Apparently Ironite is high in arsenic, however, there are many different forms of it, and I don't know if the couple of webpages I talked about were mine.

The Ironite is made up of:
1% Nitrogen
1% Soluble Potash
12% Calcium
10% Combined Sulfur
.02% Boron
4.5% Iron (2.25% Water Soluble Iron)
.10% Manganese
.0005% Molybdenum
.10% Zinc (.02% Water Soluble Zinc)

There are a lot of nutrients in this stuff, and a good source of Iron. So we'll see!

On to the Granite

So I spilled a 5 Gallon bucket about 3/4 full, which I don't usually do when I rinse a substrate, but I made a mistake, and just went with it. I rinsed this stuff for about 30 minutes. I literally took a chair out to my hose because my back was hurting. After filling and dumping the 5 Gallon bucket about 25 times, the water was pretty clear.