Introduction - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2008, 04:01 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Introduction

Hi!

Didn't see an introduction page, so if this is in the wrong spot.. Sorry..

Just wanted to say.. Hi!

I'm just getting into this in the last 3 weeks..

I thought fish would be relatively cheap, low maintenence pets for my 2 sons (7 and 4)..

Ha!!! LOL

I decided pretty much right off that I wanted real plants, even with the added expense and effort required..

I'm just gathering equipment and reading at this point (don't even have a tank, yet..).

I joined the Aquatic Community forum a few weeks ago, and my learning curve has been reduced considerably with some excellent, excellent advice..

But I thought a forum dedicated to aquarium plants would be a good place to visit, as well..

But here's where I'm at so far:

It will be a 70g, with the following equipment:

Filter (Eheim 2217)

http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...ter2217pluskit

Light (Current USA Nova Extreme 48" 2x54W T-5 10,000K)

http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...000kfreshwater

Heater 250W Visi-Therm Stealth

http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...hheater250watt

Air pump (Tetra Whisper 100 Air Pump) with airstone.

http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...isper60airpump

Thermometer (Tom Aquarium Digital Temperature Alert Thermometer)

http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...eterfahrenheit

A piece of driftwood

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=200193665746

Seachem Flourish Iron 250 ml

Seachem Stability 250 ml

Seachem Flourish Excel 500 ml

Gravel cleaner

Battery powered air pump (for power outages)

API Master Test Kit

2 nets

Tap water conditioner

A black aquarium background with application solution.

Total cost so far: $700

Still needed:

100lbs of Eco complete

20lbs of Tahitian Moon Sand

25-50W Hydrocor cable substrate heater with temperature controller

70g tank with stand (this is important lol)