~6 month old tank questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-20-2014, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
~6 month old tank questions

Hey, I'm new to the hobby, this is my first ever planted tank. I've had it up and running about 6 months. Most of my plants seem to actually be doing surprisingly well. I have had a problem with a few specific plants, as well as with some fish, which I didnt expect. Was hoping the some people with experience would be willing to help me out.

My setup:
40G breeder
eheim 600
2 NO t5 bulbs
fluorite black sand substrate

Plants:
Crypt spiralis
Crypt balansae
Crineum natans
Crypt wendtii
Crypt parva
Anubias nana
nyphaea stellata
kleiner prinz sword

Plants I've had trouble with are java fern, bacopa caroliana, wisteria, vals.

I basically started out with vals and spiralis, the vals all died off, no big deal I just replaced them with more crypts, I like them better anyway. I also started off with some bacopa, thought they would be easy but they basically slowly rotted away. I think there might be a couple new leaves on it now but thats it.

I also bought some wisteria and java fern, figured those are two easy plants, no problem. But my wisteria looks like its withering away and rotting. Same with the java fern, I have about 6 plants in there maybe, the best ones just aren't growing at all, a few are turning brown.

Every other plant looks great to my novice eyes. So i'm not really sure whats going on with the others. Any suggestions?