Windowsill HC Experiment (Update/New location) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-29-2008, 01:25 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Windowsill HC Experiment (Update/New location)

I’m by no means an expert, but I wanted to grow some emersed Hemianthus Callitrichoides, Tom Barr’s post encouraged me to try 4 different substrates to see how good/bad the HC grows with each one and sunlight.

I bought 4 rectangular plastic containers of 5” l x 3.5” w x 1 ¾” h, cut the lid and put a piece of transparent plastic (just cut some ziplock bags) to keep humidity in check and permits sunlight to be more effective.

These are the contents of each container:

1.- Regular Fluorite
2.- Miracle Gro Sticks (I cut 1 in little pieces)
3.- Black Soil ( Pot Soil )
4.- Mix .- The same mixture I’m currently using in other emersed setup (Coconut fiber, peat moss, Sera Super Peat, Vermiculite, Osmocote and Perlite)

I added a fifth container with the number 4 mix, it’s a Ferrero Rocher’s 16 pieces pack.

All were topped with regular fine grain gravel.

They are in my office’s windowsill where they can receive good sunlight. As they are in the outer side of the windowsill, they can’t be seen unless you are courious, lol.

I’m a bit doubtful about the containers’ depth… Do you think they are too shallow ? I’m concerned about the heat but we’ll see what happens, if I notice the heat affects the plants I’d buy some deeper ones.

Well, here are the pics, I will be updating this message. I hope it doesn’t take ages for the Cuba to grow. Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

I don’t know how could I’ve done the HC planting without these great tweezers, they are not the fancy ADA’s but they are very useful (an a lot cheaper) lol.

Thanks for reading and looking at the pics

On Edit... Spelling

My Low Tech 82 gal. planted Tank