Titanium Tank Safe? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 04:39 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Titanium Tank Safe?

So this might be a crazy question and seem a little out of the ordinary but is titanium safe to use in an aquarium? I work as a medical sales rep selling medical grade titanium screws and plates to fix broken bones and have been thinking about using a few screws to hold a few pieces of wood together for a strong, secure hold. I do know titanium screws might sound crazy but I can easily use a few as I have extras available.

75G, 29G, 20L, 12L, 10G, 5 Nano's, 3 Betta bowls

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

*Everybody has too much of something...me? I have fish tanks.*
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 05:12 AM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
Yep, probably better then stainless steel as titanium is an inert element.

v3

Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2014, 09:28 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Yeah, should be.

We've got those titanium heaters, and a few other odds and ends made out of titanium that are even good for marine aquariua use.

One of the reasons it is commonly used inside of people

Out of curiosity, what's the rough/general cost on those? I imagine if they are intended for medical use they are going to be quite a bit more expensive then they wood be otherwise.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2014, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

They run around $60-$120 a screw depending on size and kind but I have some lying around so why not right!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-08-2014, 03:25 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)