Top Glass? Yes or no - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2014, 04:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Top Glass? Yes or no

Ive been keeping a high tech planted aquarium for over 10 years.

I would like peoples opinion on having no glass, some glass, fully covered top glass...

I have found no glass great but I have lost a few jumpy fish.

I like having some glass, meaning glass around the edges of the top only. Im thinking of having a custom piece of glass made that perfectly fits around the top edges of my tank and nicely fits around hardware....

With a tank fully covered I've always had temperature flux issues.

What do you like?

New setup May 14, 2017: standard 75g tank eheim 2215 (will add a second filter), 36" fluval planted 2.0, 36" planted + 24/7, marineland basic 36' LED, cycling tank now with a few neons, CO2 system (GLA reg, controller and aqariumplants.com reactor)

old Setup SOLD 2014: 90g planted and setup tank.
co2 system, dosing dry ferts 2-3 times a week, Eheim 2213, Eheim 2215 running through co2 reactor
aquarium plants.com co2 system, 10 young Indian flasher barbs (Rosline sharks)
20 cardinals

Last edited by mibsonG; 03-01-2014 at 04:33 PM. Reason: typo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2014, 04:40 PM
Algae Grower

I love the look of open top tanks but all of mine i keep covered. I dont like having to deal with the evaporation and the possibility of jumpers. Usually when my tanks are covered the temp remains more constant than if they are uncovered.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Fraternity of Dirt #153
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mibsonG View Post