Mistakes made, lessons learned? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Mistakes made, lessons learned?

As a beginner, I thought that maybe this question would be enlightening for myself and others:

What do you know now that you wish you'd known when you first started keeping an aquarium?
What lessons did you learn the hard way?

I'm interested to see what people have to say!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 03:49 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
I know now, that smaller aquarium's are not easier to maintain stable water parameter's.
Lesson I learned the hard way... clean water is best medicine.
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 03:50 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
If you give yourself a budget of $200, expect to double it.

seriously, its like a drug this aquarium thing

post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 03:51 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Fair goldfish do not belong in a bowl or a 10 gallon tank.
post #5 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 03:55 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (34/95%)
Not cycling a tank and adding 20 fish....yea did that once. Also cutting corners and not being patient is another. Meds are also a bad thing, don't use them unless absolutely neccessary. Theres not many times that it is neccessary, clean water always helps.
post #6 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 04:12 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Dont skimp on filtration if the manufacturer says the filter is good for 50 to 100 gallons and u have a 75 gallon, then buy 2. Make sure u filter will handle ur load
post #7 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 04:40 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
That all fish cannot live together....don't buy on a whelm....researching beforehand, it can save a-lot of money and time
post #8 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 04:59 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)