Help save my tank--20gal planted med-high light - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-22-2014, 02:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help save my tank--20gal planted med-high light

Hey everyone--thanks for reading!

I'm a beginner aquascape hobbyist, and I've been working on this 20gal since fall semester. Needless to say, running a high-tech tank while in school is tough--I had a professor watch my tank over winter break, and even though I had written out instructions for dosing ferts and had set the lights to timers, when I got it back I lost a couple fish and almost all my plants--basically planted tank armageddon

Before armageddon I had:
  • dwarf hairgrass
  • dwarf baby tears
  • red rubin
  • ludwigia
  • narrow leaf chain swords
And they all did pretty well (except the hairgrass).

Post armageddon, my narrow leaf chain swords and red rubin survived and are growing fine, though the ludwigia isn't doing so well.
Also in the tank are two nerites snails, 7 harlequin rasboras, and one albino bristlenose pleco.

I've planted some low-light plants--as soon as the semester is over I'm going to transition to a low-tech, non-CO2 tank to save on electricity and because I'll probably be moving around a lot.

Current plants include
  • narrow leaf chain swords
  • red rubin
  • java fern
  • water wisteria
  • crypts
  • ludwigia

Specs
20gal tall
Flourite substrate
up to 72W lighting--currently running 48W X 6hrs with 2hrs 72W "noon" lighting in the middle (fixture has 3X24W T5 HO bulbs, so I run a combination of 2 and 3 bulbs at a time)
more on lighting--that adds up to 21.6WpG/day (a bit less than the 24WpG/day suggested by Green Leaf Aquariums)
DIY CO2 out of a 2L sprite bottle

Water Params (tested just before posting this)
pH 7.4-7.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates ~30ppm (is this high?)
Temp 76F (I recently broke the thermometer, but it's consistently around there with the heater I have)

Ferts