How do you make a plant dip? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
How do you make a plant dip?

I just got back from buying some new plants, penny wart. I want to dip them before I put them in my tank.
I've never done this before so if anyone can tell me how to do it with out damaging my plants I would really appreciate it.
I normally just put my plants in with out dipping them, but I finally got most of my algae under control and I sure don't want to introduce some new kind..
Thank you!
EDIT! Okay I just looked up Penny Wart and that's not the plant I got... I'll have to do some searching to find out what I actually got, it was sold as Penny wart...

Betta sorority--25 Cube tank

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 11:07 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Penny Wort is the common name of a couple of different species.
Hydrocotyle is the most common botanical name when you are talking about penny wort for aquariums or ponds. There are several species of Hydrocotyle.

Lysmachia nummularia is another plant that may be called Penny Wort. It is also called Creeping Jenny. It is not a true underwater plants, but thrives on the margins of a stream or pond.

Wort is a common name that means soft plant, herb, non-woody plant. Penny Wort could be used for almost any soft plant with round or nearly round leaves.

To make a plant dip, it depends on what you are killing.
Select the chemical that will kill what you want at a dose that will not harm the plants.
Also, figure out what will break down that chemical, and have it ready.

Here are a few examples: