High tech newbie - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
High tech newbie

Hello everyone this is my first time posting here.

I've had a low tech aquarium for about a year and a half now and am thinking about moving onto something a bit more ambitious. I am, however a bit of a newbie when it comes to anything higher tech do I have a few questions.

I am thinking of going for a nature style aquarium with carpet plants, maybe an iwagumi or something resembling a field with moss attached to some driftwood.

(1) a lot of the carpeting plants seems to have high lighting requirements. My aquarium came with a single 24w t5 light under the hood that covers it. I assume I would need something more powerful? I was thinking of something like the Hagen glo t5 2x 24 w starter kit. Would that be sufficient? I was thinking of growing something like elocharis parvula or some form of hairgrass. I am aware that higher lighting would require co2 and am planning to use a diy pressurised set up for this.

(2) I've read that the filtration for a higher tech plant needs to be able to filter about ten times the capacity of the tank (my aquarium dimensions are 70cm long, 35cm wide and 40cm high). Would something like a tetra tec ex1200 do the job or would the ex700 be fine?

(3) I've been thinking about stocking the tank with rummy nose tetras. I've read that they like dense vegetation. Would they do well in a more minimal style nature set up? Is the tank size sufficient (I have never had them before)?

Thanks in advance. Sorry for all the questions!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-08-2014, 10:21 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
I'm not a carpeting grower so I'll skip that but comment on question two.
I advise caution here as there are so many myths and half understood "truths". I don't see any need or reasoning for that much filter.