Water Changes/ Parameters - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-04-2014, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Water Changes/ Parameters

Hi everyone,

I am still new to the planted tank hobby and currently learning boat loads everyday. A little about what I have: I am raising my 2 koi and 2 goldfish in my 150 to go out in my new raised pond (2000+ gals), the 150 will be turned into a planted tank when they are moved, and I have a 30 cube planted and is my main focus right now. With that said I would like to ask about water changes. I'm still learning about tank/ecosystem chemistry, but have an itch to find out your opinion. I understand the basics of water testing, supplements, and plant growth. I was just wondering your opinion on if you have "perfect" water parameters (0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 10-20 nitrates, and ph stability) hence a balanced aquarium, are water changes still necessary until these conditions change?

Please keep in mind I am speaking highly theoretical. I do my water changes biweekly which I need to do to keep my water parameters good. But I have heard about having a balanced system where all parts are working in harmony to keep the ecosystem stable. I bought the book "The Ecology of the Planted Aquarium" by: Diana Walstad, I have not read it yet, but have heard that her process almost eliminates the need for water changes do to keeping a balanced ecosystem. In that same mind frame does that apply to any tank that keeps good water parameters for longer periods than normal, can water changes be less frequent?

Now I know filtration, fish and plant load affect this, but I would like to know your opinions. This may be a silly question, but I feel it will further my knowledge with your responses.

Thanks in advance for your helpful replies,
Kyle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-05-2014, 02:37 AM
Planted Member