New to Plants but not to Aquariums - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 04:02 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to Plants but not to Aquariums

Hi all! I'm new to plantedtank.net but I've stopped by and read articles and post over the past 3 years. I've been in the fish hobby for about 3 years and have kept 3 Oscars, a Jack Dempsey and a breeding pair of Convicts. I've always wanted to do a planted tank but didn't think I had the time, but now I'm ready.

To start I'm going to try a 10gal setup, I have an Emperor 280 filter, and a 150watt heater. I currently don't have a cover or light fixture but i was thinking about using a CF with a 36 watt bulb. I noticed many people use Java Ferns and Java Moss but I'm not sure how those fair in this setup. I would also like some suggestions on plants I can use so I can take a look at them with my girlfriend and see what we would like.

I've used sand in all my tanks and plan to do so here too, what would be a good supplimental subrate? Would laterite be fine or should I go with something else? (I know this also partially depends on the plants I decide on.)

This site has been a great resource so far and I hope to do a journal when I get all the info and develop a plan. I hope you guys can help steer me in the right direction. Thanks.

~Andy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 04:16 AM

PTrader: (1/100%)
I'm new to planted tanks myself. However, I do know hardware. That filter and heater are HUGE for a 10g, yes?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-07-2007, 04:17 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (60/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroWicked View Post