What's the pupose of a water change in a planted tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
What's the pupose of a water change in a planted tank

I've been keeping non-planted fw tanks and sw reef tanks for 20+ years and have done water changes religiously on all of them. The primary reason for doing water changes on these aquariums is to get rid of unwanted nitrates and/or phosphates.

I am now doing my first planted tank where nitrates and phosphates are beneficial. So why do water changes? What do they take out or add to the tank? Trace elements?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 08:09 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (22/100%)
IMO It depends on the tank.
I have a low-tech low light tank where I do infrequent water changes to replace Ca & Mg with my liquid rock.
When I dosed EI (Estimative Index: where all the plant nutrients are dosed to excess so nothing is missing, and you perform 50% water changes weekly) on my high tech tank, it is basically to reset the nutrient levels.

Walter

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or my
Proud former member of:

--May the floor under your tank always be dry, and your glass clear!!!

Last edited by tazcrash69; 11-06-2007 at 08:37 PM. Reason: removed extra word
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-06-2007, 08:35 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
Water changes are used extensively with Tom Barr's Estimative Index dosing method to "reset" the aquarium nutrients.