Pickling Salt in Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Pickling Salt in Planted Tank

I have a tank with a few mollies in and and I'm going to be planting the tank tomorrow. I'm gonna put some salt in for the mollies and was wondering if Pickling salt would be ok? It doesn't say anything about Iodine on the box. Is there something different about the salt that makes it for pickling?

I was going to use about 3 tablespoons in my 10 gallon but wanted to make sure that it was okay to do so with some of you guys since I'm new to the hobby. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 07:01 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
I don't know, but pickled mollies sound good. Mmmmmm!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 07:41 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Pickling salt has very fine grains to allow it to dissolve easily in cold water. Other than that, it's just salt, so go for it.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2007, 07:59 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattius View Post
I have a tank with a few mollies in and and I'm going to be planting the tank tomorrow. I'm gonna put some salt in for the mollies and was wondering if Pickling salt would be ok? It doesn't say anything about Iodine on the box. Is there something different about the salt that makes it for pickling?

I was going to use about 3 tablespoons in my 10 gallon but wanted to make sure that it was okay to do so with some of you guys since I'm new to the hobby. Thanks.

pickling salt is typically just plain NaCL... same difference if you went and bought common aquarium salt... Most of the research I have done on my mollies and swordtails indicates you should be using Marine salt.... That is because Mollies like very hard water in addition to the little bit of salt.