post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2014, 01:44 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Vals

I'm new to planted tanks. Here is what I'm running:
10g, Dwarf Hairgrass and some type of Vallisneria
Caribsea Floramax mixed with some black sand
Two 20w 6500k CFL bulbs (totals to 40w) on for 10 hours a day
DIY CO2 running at ~1bp2s
EI dosing (seachem flourish for micronutrients and dry ferts [Potassium Nitrate and Mono Potassium Phosphate] for macronutrients)
I've had the tank set up for almost a week now and I've noticed that my Vals don't look exactly in tip top shape. Just now one of the leaves "broke" off and is just floating in the tank. For the most part all three of the Vals are still green except for two leaves that are brown at the top (not algae). Is this normal? Or am I doing something wrong? I want to make sure I'm not doing anything wrong because if I am I want to be sure to catch it early and not let it get worse before it's too late or becomes harder to solve.

Btw, so far I have not dosed with the dry ferts/macronutrients because I just got them in the mail today. I'm about to dose now. Will this browning/leaf break-off go away overtime since I'm starting to dose with the macronutrients?

Aaaaand one last thing.. Can I replant the broken off leaf into the substrate? Will it eventually grow or should I just throw it away? Lol sorry if this is a dumb question..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	267785  

Name:	photo 2.JPG
Views:	59
Size:	110.3 KB
ID:	267793  

Name:	photo 3.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	267801  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-31-2014, 02:53 AM
Planted Member