Converting an established aquarium to planted - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 07:07 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Converting an established aquarium to planted

Hello, I currently have an aquarium with gold tetras, gold barbs, rosy barbs, blue gouramis, a talking catfish, a blond rubber nosed pleco and a red-tailed black shark. It has been established for over a year and I am interested in adding live plants. The substrate is just coated, large grain aquarium gravel and the lighting is whatever came with the hood I purchased.

How would I go about changing the substrate without upsetting the balance in my tank? What kind of plants would work decently with these fish? What is a good, relatively inexpensive way to light it properly?

I tried putting in a couple plants before as an experiment but they didn't seem to take root. I'm new to live plants, so anything you could tell me would be appreciated.
Just for fun:

My lovely gold tetras, the coolest fish in the world.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 07:13 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (60/100%)
Welcome to the community! Try starting here to get an idea of what it generally takes to have a nice planted tank. rexgrigg.com Everyone here at TPT is really helpful as well once you have more specific questions after doing some reading about the hobby. Good luck and I can't wait to see the progress of your tank!

Mike

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-03-2007, 07:19 PM
Banned

PTrader: (4/100%)
Well, we are still missing a bit of information:

Tank Size
Type of Filtration
Light Wattage

125 Gallon AGA w/ Overflows
Filtration: Ehiem 2026 Filter, Dual "Ghetto" Overflow Internal Filters