Algae Research Database - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-26-2007, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Algae Research Database

Hi Folks !

It soon will be my first anniversary as a planted aquarium addict. One thing I learned about this hobby by now is that algae is an ugly poorly understood monster that has no clear preferences and seems to occur in all different kinds of situations. The best of us have developed an intuition of fighting it, but the rest of us are learning mostly on our own mistakes. This can be pretty painful at times.

I am a graduate student who is trying to use statistical modeling to study complex processes. So, I thought why not try what I've learned to study algae growth. Such approach can find really interesting nuances that we have not noticed before. Hopefully this will shed some light on the problems we all are struggling with.

To conduct such research we would need to collect alot of data about algae growth. This should include a lot of detail that may have any kind of influence on the algae. To collect such data I thought to create a simple web application, not any more complicated then this forum or email program where anyone can enter their algae observations. I intend to make this data public unless data contributor wants otherwise. Anyone could visit this resource and see what problems other folks had, what condition they occurred in and what treatment was helpful. In a sense, I only suggest organizing the data that is published on the aquarium forum like this every day in a way a computer can deal with.