My new 90 gallon, questions & photos! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-22-2014, 06:13 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
My new 90 gallon, questions & photos!

I am a relative newbie to aquariums. (just started my first planted tank with already the expected newbie mistakes lol) I had some goldfish who lived to be in their teens but my experience with fish doesn't go farther than that haha. I have been reading everything I can get my hands on though!
I got this 90 gallon bowfront for a screaming deal. I was wondering if you guys could tell me about some of the equipment it came with. If it's any good and if I should consider replacing any of it. The tank itself is in great shape, but I am going to refinish the stand this summer to match my home a little better.
Second question, will it be really difficult to successfully keep plants in this tank? I read somewhere that its harder to keep live plants in large deep tanks like this one.
Third question, the seller of this tank gave me the cannister filter that came with it with cycled media in it. I assumed that the filter needs to be running to keep the bacteria alive so I filled the tank and got the thing running with some trial and error. I left the tank bare as I don't have any gravel or anything yet. What else, if anything, do I need to do to keep the bacteria alive until I'm ready for fish?
Fourth question! I live in a northern Canada down with pretty limited selection when it comes to fish supplies. What kind of substrate should I use? I can't find substrates specifically made for plants anywhere around here and sand is also really hard to find. Would gravel be ok? Are there pros and cons? I prefer the look of sand, but so far its been challenging to find.
Fifth question, the light fixture only came with one bulb, and the fixture won't work without two, what kind of bulb do I need to buy? Any specific model, brand or type?