Messy Situation - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking Messy Situation

Hi everyone,

Just a little bit of background:

I am a college student recently just started a 10g planted tank in my dorm. I started it about 2 weeks before I had to go to winter break. What I decided to do was keep it a bare-bottom tank so it'll be easier to clean and move back home when summer comes. I keep the plants in red solo cups with flourite substrate to help them grow.

Well here is where the problems began:

The 2nd day after I put planted the tank, the plants started to melt. I did a little research and found that this is common due to different water chemistry and transportation. As I was observing the tank, I noticed something moving, a snail. I tried to get the snail out with a pair of tweezers but I kept on losing grip because it was too small. Right before I went to break, I noticed that algae started growing on the glass of the tank. So I decided to deal with it all after break because I had to focus all my time on finals.

This is what the tank looked like before I left for break:

http://i381.photobucket.com/albums/o...psh50onswf.jpg