Invaded by Peacock Gudgeon fry- now what? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-26-2013, 06:56 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Invaded by Peacock Gudgeon fry- now what?

I swear ....every living ,swimming ,crawling thing that lives in my 10 gallon ,has had babies ,so far.And I set up my tank for decorative purposes only.....now the things are getting out of hand.
So far I have :
3 peacock gudgeons
1 Oto
3 Amano shrimp
around 50 small sized shrimp(red cherry ,blue pearls tigers etc...)
3 Assassin snails (plus a small baby one)
1 African Giant filter shrimp

On Christmas day I noticed that the Peacock Gudgeon eggs have hatched ,I can easily count 20 fry ,at any time ,so there must be more.I never intended to multiply them ,and never thought they will ,cause I'm rather new to fishkeeping.
The adults seem to ignore the fry ,they won't chase or eat them ,maybe they got used to small things running around in all directions ,cause the shrimp colony is also increasing.The fry are too small and too quick to net them ,they hide in the plants ,so I don't know what to do.
I have an empty 15 gallon tank in the basement ,I 'm thinking bring that up in the house and move the fry there ,when they'll be older.
None of my friends are interested in the fishkeeping hobby ,they're rather irresponsible when it comes to animals.I'd like to try a LFS ,give them away for free at the worst ,but I'm not sure they'll take them.

In conclusion ,I have a couple of questions(for now):
1.Is my tank overstocked?
2.How many times a week should I change the water and how much?
3.When will I have to start feeding the fry?
4.Will any LFS buy\accept fish from people?