Setting up Co2 tomorrow-need guidance - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2013, 05:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Setting up Co2 tomorrow-need guidance

So I have a co2 system coming in the mail tomorrow. To say I'm excited to set it up is an understatement. This is my first time doing this though so I have some extremely basic questions.

First off, when I receive the system, do I need to bring anything besides the co2 tank itself to get it filled? Didn't know if there were any weird laws or anything.

Secondly, this is being added to a planted tank with some fish and shrimp in it. I don't want to shock/kill them so I assume a slow and steady approach to turning up the gas? Any suggestions on how long of a period I should take to reach my set level of co2?

Anything else I should be aware of/know?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2013, 07:00 AM

PTrader: (3/100%)
You will need the CO2 cylinder only to get it filled. If it has not been hydrostatically tested in the last 5 years to ensure safety, you will also need to get that done (the place that refills it should be able to do it for you).

Yes, the slow and steady approach to increasing CO2 in the water column is recommended.

Regarding the operation of the regulator, to prevent a gauge from being blown, I would suggest you take a look through my Primer for Pressurized CO2 where I outline the necessary steps to take to safely attach and operate a CO2 regulator.

Anthony

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-17-2013, 02:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru