Hello All... I have a few questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2004, 12:12 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi everyone! I just found this site and I'm glad I did.

First some background... I've been keeping fish for a few years. I have a 55 gal saltwater reef, African cichlid tank and a freshwater angel tank.

I have a 54 corner bowfront that I'm going to convert to my first planted tank. The issues with this tank is that it's a deeper than the standard 55 and it's 21 inches high. I'd like to get 1 light fixture and I guess I would need about 150 watts+. The glass top is exactly 30' wide and highest PC fixture I've seen is 2X65. Will using 130 watts on this tank limit what plants I can keep? I'm not looking for exotic plants but I would like a nice variety.

Also, I was thinking about Discus but they seem hard to keep and require different conditions than most plants.

So, what are your suggestions for this tank?

Thank in advance!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-09-2004, 02:15 AM
Planted Member

That lighting with that tank should put you somewhere in the 2-2.5 wpg lighting rang, which is enough to grow plants, without sucking down CO2 and creating algae blooms. Ideal is supposedly 3 wpg, but i think most people settle for about 2.5 wpg. I havent kept discus so i wouldnt know if those would work or not, i would suggest if that is the fish you want, get plants that work in the discus' prefered pH and temperature. Discus seem to be a favorite probably because they are good looking fish. I do beleive they may be a little difficult though. I would say that the lighting should be more than enough to sustain anubias and similar lower light plants, and probably just enough to get away with for some more of the higher light plants. go to the planted tank homepage, and then to the plants section for specific info on plants.https://www.plantedtank.net/plants.html