Termite Fumigation and fish tank?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-02-2007, 01:51 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
Send a message via AIM to yingxuebailang Send a message via MSN to yingxuebailang
Termite Fumigation and fish tank??

What should I do with my fish tank during termite fumigation? Has anyone has any prior experience with that? Do I have to remove everything from the tank? Or can I just bag the tank for 2 days? Does the gas kills fish and plants or is it ok to leave the plants in the tank and just take out the fish?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-02-2007, 11:44 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (120/100%)
Although I have no experience with this I would assume the gas would diffuse into the water and kill your fish. You can try asking the fumigation company as I would assume they should know something like that.
post #3 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-02-2007, 11:55 PM

PTrader: (0/0%)
i wouldnt risk it, take the fish out, and the plants, and the filter media. After the fungimation change all your water out, rinse the substrate, let the filter go on for 24 hours with activated carbon before returning livestock. Of course this whole time the livestock should be in a quarantine tank not in there plastic bags.....

This is a just in case scenario though....

post #4 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-03-2007, 12:50 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (83/100%)
Maybe you can wrap them with big garbage bags. You would have to seal them, with heat. And maybe run a hose from the bag to outside the house.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
+
+

Proper Preparation Prevents Poor Performance
post #5 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-03-2007, 05:09 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (34/100%)