PMDD - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-05-2004, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I am new to the "Planted Tank" community. I have built up what I would consider an okdecent setup almost completely DIY. I couldn't bring myselft to putting in a more plant-friendly substrate, but I plan on doing that in my next tank. I just recenly have jumped into CO2 and fertilization. I bought the PMDD makings from Greg Watson (Great person to work with!!!). Although I am still in the process of slowly raising my Nitrate levels, my plants are pearling about 4 hours into my light cycle.

I do have lots of questions that I am still searching through past posts before asking, but a simple one on the PMDD. I mixed up a batch according to the following article: http://www.thekrib.com/Plants/Fertilizer/pmdd-tim.html

I am sure most will consider this a dumb question or just a silly observation.

After mixing a batch according to the 500ml recipe, my mixture still precipitates out of solution after sitting. Each day when I go to dose my tank, I have to shake the bottle for several (like 5 or 6) minutes before it becomes mostly dissolved. As per the article, I store it in a dark glass bottle in the refrigerator. I know the temperature helps force more of the solids out of the solution.