Complete Beginner, need help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 10:59 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Complete Beginner, need help!

Hi guys, sorry to be another beginner asking questions but....

im looking into buying a 2ft-3ft tank to start with, prob nearer 2ft and what i want to know is what i will need to get fully functional with estimated prices in 's. Everything like heaters and filtration etc...

I want some colourful (dare i say beautiful) tropicals, what would be best to start with? and can you show me pictures and how many i should get etc...

Thanks in advance!

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 11:33 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
What kind of plants do you want to grow?
What's your budget? We can price you tank setups that cost well over a few thousand dollars, or setups that cost only a few hundred. Give us an estimate.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 11:39 AM Thread Starter

i dont know what i want to grow, iv only just become interested

probably 200 to 300 max! that ok?

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-22-2007, 12:58 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (96/100%)
That would be about 600 US, so I think that is more than enough to get a good setup.

As far as a good start up set, I would say a 29 gallon is a good place to start for the size your looking at. It would be 30" in width, so its within you 2ft to 3 ft range.

I reccomend going to your local fish store and buying a "starter set". Most stores will carry something like this that comes with everything you need to get going.

If you want real plants, I would reccomend starting off slowly...get some really hardy plants that are easy to maintain...like Anubias or Java Fern (Basically plants that have low demands for lighting, CO2 and fertilization).

Have you ever had an aquarium before??? What kind of fish are you looking to maintain???