Talk me through this... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-07-2007, 12:44 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talk me through this...

Hi There,

Another novice here...

I just bought my first tank its about 90L (AquaoneAR 620T tank). From what I gather, everyone says to take things very slow. That's cool. I've got time. Here's what I want. I want to see my tank develop into something that's one of a kind but healthy and well planned out. I want to be confident in managing food, waste, water, flora and fauna.

At the moment I'm thinking I'd like something that is either South American or African nature. Lots of lush green/exotic plants are a must!

So, where should I start with filters, lights and gravel? My tank came with an external heater. Should I get one that goes under gravel too? I have absolutely no idea how to feed the plants or balance CO2. IS the factory light OK...I need to buy a new bulb, what should I get?

Words of wisdom?

Matt in Australia
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-07-2007, 02:35 PM

PTrader: (0/0%)
To be honest with you, my suggestion would be to start very easy, and work your way up from there, choose a good substrate, I've had a lot of success with Eco-Complete, Seachem Flourite, and Schultz.

Start with some low-light plants, the swap and shop here is a great place to try a lot of plants to see what works for you and then work your way from there, once you start getting really involved in it, it can run you an enormous amount of money, enough to scare someone off even, but the most important thing is for you to enjoy it from the beginning, you can always rework your plants, and change lighting/co2 later, but if you don't have fun with it from the start, and it seems like too much work, it will just be a huge frustration for you.

You also don't want to run out and spend a few hundred dollars on plants and fish and have them all die on you.