I am New in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia - HELP with Setup.. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Post I am New in Hobart, Tasmania, Australia - HELP with Setup..

Hi All,

I have closed down my Marine tank of many year (5-6 Years) and am now setting up a Planted Tank.. I have a few bits already and I am after some more info....

Currently, I have;
*4x2x2 Display Tank
*4x1x1 Sump with Bio Tower

*6kg CO2 Bottle
*Reg, Solenoid, Needle etc
*WeirPro PH Controller - I have set to PH7.0
*I have connected the CO2 hose to inject into the inlet of the return pump from the sump, so CO2 bubble is mixed in by the time it travels 2-3 meters to main tank.

*2 x 250wt MH 6K lamps
*2 x T5 (Atinic? Blue (will change to Plant Grow?)

Now for My Questions

? What PH should I select to find a good middle ground?
? Is running a sump a good or Bad Idea? It can be sealed...
? Substrate - To Many Options... I want a cheap, yet good substrate option?

Thanks All....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 08:14 AM
Algae Grower

Hi.

Sumps are OK for planted tanks. I have one. You do use more co2, thats the only down side. Can you remove the bio tower, as its not needed. This is where most of the co2 will be lost.

IMO 2x250w MH will be too much

You will want around 30ppm of co2. So to achieve this your ph shoud be around 6.6 and your kh 4

If you want cheap substrate and don't want to use the commercial products, then a dark gravel from most lfs and a layer of laterite underneath the substrate should do well.

Try here for the aussie way. www.aquariumlife.com.au
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 09:35 AM
Algae Grower

you here too, Shake?

Adriaan,

I largly agree with Shake. These are my answers to your questions: