Best way to clean tank filled with sticky algae. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2007, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
Best way to clean tank filled with sticky algae.

Hi Everyone,

I've been neglecting my tank for the past 2 years, basically I just change water and feed the fish, and occasionally clean the filter. So now as the result of that, my tank is filled with algae on the side of the glass. So to start over, I need to clean the tank.

Any recommendation on how is the best way to do this, I've tried just cleaning the algae with mag float and it can only remove 1/2 of the algae.

Thanks.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2007, 07:49 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
Get an algae scraper. Basically a blade on a handle. It looks like an ice scraper...but I don't imagine you've had to use one, considering you're in OC, CA. LOL.

They're about ~$20 at LFS...or you can get a better magnet algae cleaner. Hammerhead ones are very nice, but pricey. $60 each!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-14-2007, 07:56 PM

PTrader: (22/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by khoile View Post
Hi Everyone,

I've been neglecting my tank for the past 2 years, basically I just change water and feed the fish, and occasionally clean the filter. So now as the result of that, my tank is filled with algae on the side of the glass. So to start over, I need to clean the tank.

Any recommendation on how is the best way to do this, I've tried just cleaning the algae with mag float and it can only remove 1/2 of the algae.

Thanks.