Water Change & Temperature - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-22-2007, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (10/100%)
Water Change & Temperature

Hello,
I'm a newb...just got my co2 installed a few days ago (see more details in my sig), working next on starting the EI dosing....but, tomorrow doing a water change, and today bought a Rubbermaid "Roughneck" 45 gallon trash bin to hold my water overnight, this is why I thought this was best water changing method:

1. Living in Madison, WI, water is pretty hard, everyone has a water softener. We do as well, its a NaCl (salt) water softener. The water softener is *not* hooked up to the cold water side of the kitchen sink.
2. I read somewhere that using the 'hot' water was bad for possible copper contamination, and to only use the cold side of the kitchen faucet.
3. Cold water is coming about MUCH colder than the 77'F I have the tank set at.....
...off-note...(4)...I was worried about chlorine/chloramines and dosing for them out of the tank, but apparently Seachem Prime can just be put direct into the tank...so that's not an issue anymore....

So, if I'm going to start doing 50% water changes with the EI, I figured it would be prudent not to be dumping in 55'F water...so, I got the trashcan w/ wheels, and letting 25 gallons sit overnight to warm up to room temp, 68-70'F.

However, seems most people here, including Rex & Tom B, just pump water straight into the tank...I'm assuming ya'll just turn on the hot & cold so as to not shock the fish...but, do you think I should be concerned about the 1) copper and 2) water softener, both of which are on the hot water? If just using a python connection is all I need to do, then that just makes it so much easier in the long run, and I can return the Rubbermaid and spend money on tubing and adapters for a diy python.