How often are you all tearing down and replant? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
How often are you all tearing down and replant?

As the title asks. Now for a little back ground on the question from my perspective.

I've been battling the 55 for several months now and ready to tear it down and start over. But I wonder if this could be avoided with a little more elbow grease on my part in the first place...

I have had all types of algae in the last few months except for Staghorn and hair algae... BBA, GSA, GDA and the black sludge in the substrate (can't remember the acronym).

So I'm wondering if I cleaned house more often would the tank be in this situation. In clean house mean tearing out all the plants in a section of the tank (or the whole thing) and give the substrate a good vacuum then replant.

How often are you doing this for your tanks? Suggested keeping methods from our members here may help many in the future enjoy better over all tank health.

As always there are thousands of factors involved so I'm just trying to understand a basic rule of thumb of cleaning that has worked for you.

RIP - 55g - Eheim 2026 and 2217 - DIY CO2 reactor - Turbo Twist 3x - Tek Light t5 pendant w/ 2x54 6500k - ecocomplete mixed with Red Sea florabase.
"Better to be shot out of a cannon then squeezed through a tube" - HST

Last edited by kzr750r1; 04-16-2007 at 05:00 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 03:38 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
my last tank went about 7mos before I upgraded so it was torn down.

FUNction over form

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-15-2007, 03:50 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)