High Light without Ferts/Co2 But Heavily planted - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 12:42 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
High Light without Ferts/Co2 But Heavily planted

I've been coming across numerous tanks that have well over 2wpg but no ferts or co2 supplement and are perfectly lush and algae free, bare in mind they are pretty heavily planted.

Why can't this be done? If there are no nutrients for algae to use, even with the high light, how can it grow? If you keep a high fish load(too feed the plants), with high light and lots of plants why would algae still occur?

I dunno maby these people are just lucky or have struck a balance of some sort.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 12:49 AM

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm fairly new at this as well, so take my words with a pinch of salt. From what I understand, fish waste does not provide all the nutrients that plants need to grow well. And any time you change water parameters, algae is faster to adapt then plants.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 12:52 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (51/100%)
Send a message via AIM to frozenbarb
its probably fast growing plants, and alot of stem plants, and no maintance plants

One month in.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 06:16 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
Light distance and type are also very important.

Try 3w/gal on new PC lights with out any ferts, no CO2, no excel either........see what happens and how well you can do.

The real question is why would you want to add more light and increase the risk of algae and messing up the tank more?

Adding more light does not "help"
Adding CO2 to low light tank help far more..............

Regards,
Tom Barr

Regards,
Tom Barr
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 06:51 AM
Children Boogie

PTrader: (13/100%)
lots of natural tanks use sunlight with no CO2 & no ferts... but has a really rich substrate.