WPG Rule? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 08:07 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
im new to planted tanks (that is to say that this time im putting all my effort in). I have a 125g with around 290 watts on top, now ive heard people on this board state that the WPG rule changes on larger and smaller tanks. I have 2.3 wpg but does this constitute a medium or low light tank? the substrate is around 20 inches from the lights. I am also in the process of purchasing the milwaukee reg, and the AM 1000 reactor hooked up to an eheim 2028. Is this adequate lighting for most plants and not just low lighters?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 08:27 PM
Planted Tank VIP

PTrader: (6/100%)
The rule bends such that you could get away with less light on larger tanks and you need more light for smaller tanks. You've got all the light I'd ever use on a tank that size. You should be able to grow foreground plants in that tank. I definitely wouldn't recommend upgrading lights until you've let the plants grow with the CO2 setup for at least a few months.

- Sam P -

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Low Tech Planted Nanos with Bettas
Former Tank Journals:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 08:29 PM
Wannabe Guru

HI, and welcome to the board. I have a 120 gallon tank with 300watts over it and there isnt anything I havent been able to grow yet.

I would say your tank is medium-high light. You will probably grow most thing without much trouble...Of course each tank and setup is different.

Jason

120g, Flourite & Sand. DIY Stand and Canopy. CF lighting 3wpg, Pressurized C02, DIY reactor. 2-XP3's, 500watt heater.
Heavily planted

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-22-2004, 08:47 PM Thread Starter