How's this sound? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-15-2007, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Send a message via Yahoo to VirgoWolf
How's this sound?

OK, so I am still learning the ins and outs of planted tanks. I have been reading alot about ferts and CO2 and such (Thanks for the help Rex) and learning all I can before I make the big change. (Going from 1x 18gal low tech planted tank to 7 various planted tanks, among my non planted tanks as well)

I want to do this right, so I am asking you guys to help me plan this out. I will list any info I think may help and feel free to ask for any additional info.

The setups:

Size: 5.5gal
Lighting: 3.2wpg
Stock: Betta
Substrate: Soilmaster Select

Size: 6gal
Lighting: 1.3wpg
Stock: Betta
Substrate: Eco Complete

Size: 10gal
Lighting: 4wpg
Stock: 7+ Galaxy Rasboras, might move my L187b or some otos here as well

Lighting: 2.6wpg
Stock: Growout (currently GBR fry)

Lighting: 2.6wpg
Stock: 2 Bettas (devided)

Size: 29gal
Lighting: 2.2wpg
Stock: Livebarers and Cherry Shrimp
Substrate: Soilmaster Select

Size: 75gal
Lighting: 1.8wpg
Stock: SA Community

Mind you some of the lighting will be upgraded at some point, expecially the 75gal. As soon as my BGK is big enough to go in my 220gal without getting harassed by my big boys, I'll be selling my 55gal setup and getting a nice light setup for the 75gal.

The Plants:
This is a list of the plants I currently have or will soon be aquiring, I am open to suggestions for new plants as well. Forgive the rough list.

Rotala rotundifolia
Bacopa carolinana
wisteria
ludwiga repens / red ludwigia
frogbit
myriophyllum
hemanthius micranthemoides / Pearlweed
Riccia
Java Moss
Guppy Grass
Melon swords
dwarf sag
micro sword
jave fern
vals (corkscrew etc...)
anubias nana
green hygro
narrow leaf chain sword

I also will have plenty of the following ferts:
flourish root tabs
Flourish Comprehensive
Flourish Excel