Advice needed on my plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Advice needed on my plants

Having good success with fish for the past 5 years, I have moved up to a bigger tank and am trying my hand at live plants. I am having some newbie difficulties and would appreciate advice.

First off...can anyone tell me what this plant is? I got it from Petco in January from their tank of submerged plants when I got my 90 gallon tank. It grew at first like a rocket but now isn't doing so well.

As I said, I am new to plants. The tank was setup in mid-January, with a 40 watt bulb. In mid-February I put a Nova Extreme T5HO 4-bulb version on top, starting with (2) 10k and (1) 6700 bulbs. Last week I added a T5HO Planta bulb. This now gives me 216 watts.

Also at that time I got the Java Fern and Anacharis. The anacharis has been put through the ringer trying to get it to stay put...I finally got plant disk anchors and now it isn't moving.

My Java Fern is hurting...and I don't know what to do for it. This past weekend I finally got a pressurized CO2 setup...the Drs semi-auto one. It has lowered my ph from 8 to almost 7. My KH is 7 as well. So this has been running for 3 days.

Exactly one week ago I added Micro-Swords and Water Sprite. 1/2 the Sprite is floating, but not free floating. I want something for my fry. The other 1/2 I planted to try it - both are now starting with the brownish ends.

It doesn't look like I killed the Swords yet.

As you can see, I am also trying my hand with a ton of Java Moss. Most of it in various spots in my tank has turned brown (brown seems to be common with my plants). However, there are a few spots of green left.