First high tech attempt: - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-07-2013, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (6/100%)
First high tech attempt:

Iím just now getting back into aquariums after a 4 year unintended break. Iím starting a high tech planted tank. This is my first attempt at high tech. Iíve only done low light Java fern and some swords before in my South American cichlid tank. I donít have that tank any more so Iím starting out in a 20 gallon long.

Right now I have a DIY CO2 setup and a Coralife dual T5 NO lamp on the tank. I just bought a used CO2 regulator set up: Victor HPT 272 dual stage regulator, Burkert solenoid, Ideal 52-1-12 needle valve and JBJ style bubble counter. For a light I also bought a used 24 inch Finex Fugeray. I know the light is short for the tank length, but it was a good price and I figured it was probably better than the Coralife and would hold me until I figured out if I need a longer fixture or not. I am dosing Flourish Excel and Flourish root tabs in the tank.