Vivariums, animals, and holidays - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-29-2013, 09:50 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Vivariums, animals, and holidays

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the world of vivariums and as soon as I found out about them I knew this would be a hobby I would like. I've been doing plenty of research until I realised something very important - how can I keep pets, particularly vivarium pets that need special equipment and food and so on, if I go on holiday?

Looking around I think my options are limited, but I wanted to ask the question here to get answers from those who are more experienced. I care very much about the quality of life of any pets I own and so I want to ensure that if I go on holiday they would receive the same quality of life as they normally would - either that or I don't get the pet in the first place. I go to Holland every year for about a week or two and taking a vivarium of any kind would be very impractical. I don't know any people that would be able to care for the vivarium - they would feed and provide water but I never like to leave pets with those that don't or can't provide the best care. So here are my questions:

1) Are there any vivarium animals that largely take care of themselves once they have the tank properly set up? Or who cant take care of themselves comfortably for many weeks?
2) Do you have any suggestions for my situation? What do you guys do when you go on holiday?