CO2 into Under Gravel Grid!!!!!????? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 05:48 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
CO2 into Under Gravel Grid!!!!!?????

As an avid fan I use under-gravel filters in all my aquariums. I use the front 1/3 of the floor for the UG. The water is sucked by power-heads; flow rate is Ĺ to ĺ of the aquarium volume. The output is through a spray bar with very narrow holes, all along the rear bottom. The rear 2/3 of the floor is densely planted. The UG grid is a ľĒ high interlinked cage. (Every thing except the power-heads is DIY)

I have never used CO2 before. I wish to introduce DIY CO2 into one of my aquariums. I have asked and received all advices about CO2 use except in connection to my present
QUESTION:-

If I introduce the CO2 into the UG grid and allow it to be sucked by the power-heads and forced through the spray bar, what will be the effect?

If you have a choice, you have a problem, till you elect your choice. No choice, no problem, only consequences, learn to live with them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 05:55 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (46/100%)
should be dissolved co2, but i don't know much.

"Some of the worst things imaginable have been done with the best intentions." - Jurassic Park

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 09:29 AM

PTrader: (8/100%)
I'm not sure if it would work properly though. Does the powerheads have venturi systems? If so, maybe inject the CO2 through there?

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 02:41 PM

PTrader: (3/100%)
2 thoughts, and they are most likely both wrong, just a warning.