Is CO2 worthwhile? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-04-2006, 01:28 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Is CO2 worthwhile?

I have never used CO2 in my aquariums before. Before I start, I would like to ask you all is it worth it? I understand that I will be getting greater plant growth, and then I will have to provide them with extra fertilizer and also keep them in control with regular trimmings.

Yes I understand Dutch aquariums, plants predominate, too few fishes and you need the CO2. I have no questions there.

A fish dominated aquarium, you need aerators not CO2. I have no questions there either.

When you want a well planted and well stocked aquarium, the question arises.

In the aquariums I keep, I try to balance the planted area and the fish area. I partition the floor area, 2/3 to 1/2 of the rear is strictly planted. The substrata are fine sand over a bed of laterite soil.

The front of the aquarium is partitioned off from the rear with a 3Ē wall of acrylic strip. The fore ground is the fish area. 2Ē fine washed sand over the grid for the UG filter. Bog woods and caves are in this area.

1. When water, lights and base are good - Is there any plant you cannot grow without CO2?

2. Where you have an aquarium partially planted, like mine, and adequately stocked with fishes would you need to fertilise it with CO2?

My questions arise in these circumstances. Can anyone help me please?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-04-2006, 02:41 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
1. When water, lights and base are good - Is there any plant you cannot grow without CO2?
Plants with low light requirements will do. But most of them are apparently slow growers so you might need CO2 if you want fast growth.
Quote: