Help me Aquascape 24G for Dwarf Puffer - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-17-2006, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (18/100%)
Help me Aquascape 24G for Dwarf Puffer

Dwarf Puffers need lots of plants to break up their line of vision.

I just purchased a 24 gallon Aquapod and plant to put maybe 3 or 4 DP's in it with a group of Ottos.

I'm thinking to go with some kind of amazon like biotype. I know the DP's origionated in India (but not sure what kind of biotype they come from, amazon?)

I'm waiting till the LFS gets more ADA Amazonia (they are all out but have other ADA substrates) Not because of the name but because it is darker than their others and I feel it will provide good contrast. I'm trying to decide if I should use any kind of sand in there or not as well (I have never used sand before).

I'm not really sure what I want to do with this tank, but I'm thinking driftwood would be better for puffers than rocks as it would give them more places to hide / more natural look? All my tanks have driftwood though and none of them have any rocks so I'm very open to suggestions. ADA driftwood is very nice but kinda expensive I paid $25 for the small piece in the 20 gallon community tank.

Am I correct in putting the puffers and Ottos in an amazon bio type? Since this is a species tank, I want it to have more of a theme than my community and guppy/shrimp tanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2006, 12:38 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

I found this link.

Dwarf Puffers : Native Plants

They recomend a redish substrate, so I'm wondering if I shold try a different aquasoil other than Amazonia (can't remember exactly what color the amazonia is since I have never sceen it in person in a tank. I just like it because it was darker which would contrast the DP nicely.