Newbie here, screwed up bad... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 03:00 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (6/100%)
Newbie here, screwed up bad...

Hi all,

I finally made the jump in buying an aquarium. I bought a 50gal breader tank, and set it up this weekend. I've always wanted either and aquarium or terrarium, and figured I would work them both.

So I bought my tank, my black colored gravel, my dual flourescent light thing (50 watts total), filer, heater - other stuff soon to come. I asked for the dual light so I would be able to grow plants well.

I set all this up, then started reading about the plant side of the hobby. So now I realize I'm screwed. Wrong substrate, and not enough light. So I call around to some aquarium stored and ask for advice. I was basically told to buy either flourite or laterite, and add it over my gravel, since it is a finer substrate, it will eventually sink below my gravel - By the way, I really wanted black colored substrate. I asked if I could push the gravel to one side, add the flourite, then move the black gravel over the top of the flourite, doing half the tank at the time. I got the thumbs up on this.

So I proceed with this plan. I clear half of the tank bottom, and add flourite to one side. Poof! I'm sure whoever is reading this is laughing their rear off right now. Blindly, I try to get the back gravel moved over top of the flourite and finsih the other side as well. I have a huge mess. Aside form the cloudiness, I know I didn't things layered right.