Should I add anything over my eco-complete? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2006, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)
Should I add anything over my eco-complete?

I've decided to go with the eco-complete substrate and was wondering if it was recomended to put anything on top of it? Does anyone have a good idea of how i should put this substrate down? Would it be a good idea to put a layer of peat or something down first? Thanks for the help! I'm new to the planted scene. lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2006, 04:59 PM

PTrader: (28/100%)
Hey Derek....welcome to plants and plantedtank.net!

It seems like the more you learn the more there is to learn in this hobby. That said, substrates can be tackled from so many points of view, in so many ways. Any opinion you get on this one is merely that: opinion.

I would say the following: don't put anything ON TOP of hte eco-complete, unless you don't like the color. I personally love the black look, and I would leave it there for asthetics.

As for layers under the eco-complete...several options come to mind. I've heard of Laterite, peat, kitty litter, soil, mulm, etc. I think it's really, really helpful to use old mulm/detritus from an established tank here. It helps the substrate age faster, which will lead to a more stable tank faster. Peat....I'm really not sold on that, not sure exactly what benefits there are in that. Laterite, provides and excellent source of nutrients to the roots over time, mostly Iron I think.

But the short answer: eco-complete is just that "complete". You don't NEED to add anything!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2006, 05:00 PM

Also, how big is the tank? Is it brand new, what kind of equipment are you planning on having?

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-08-2006, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (3/100%)